Skip to content



GHC is proud to recognize our dedicated volunteer base, especially those who have made a significant contribution of time, leadership and positivity to our association. Individual awards are presented annually to GHC members who best demonstrate the award criteria over the course of the season. Any GHC member may nominate members for these awards. Read our Volunteer Recognition Guidelines for all minor hockey awards available to GHC Membership.


This award, in honour of Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame inductee and former GHC builder Judy Colpitts, is presented to a Volunteer who has provided outstanding service to GHC. They have demonstrated a tireless commitment to improving the association, they have significantly impacted and/or inspired the GHC membership through their actions, and they have fostered a good environment for players to develop hockey skills or positive character.


This award is presented to a Manager who has demonstrated a strong and positive commitment to an individual team. They have promoted good sportsmanship and citizenship (e.g. involving the team in the community), demonstrated a respect for the game of hockey, and provided a good environment for the players of the team to develop their hockey skills/abilities and/or develop their character in a positive manner.


This award is presented to a Head Coach who exemplifies the values, goals and philosophy of GHC. The GHC Coach of the Year is a model on and off the ice, demonstrates patience, effective communication and leadership to players and parents. This Coach demonstrates a balanced approach between skill building, competitive play, and fostering a love for the game of hockey.


The GHC Calgary Fire Elite Female Hockey Program hosts an annual Awards Banquet each year to celebrate the achievements of our Bantam AA, Midget AA and AAA teams, staff and supporters.

Most Valuable Player

  • 2018/19 Midget AA Red: KELLY STANFORD
  • 2018/19 Midget AA White: BROOKE MCCOOL
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA Red: RYANN PERRETT
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA White: ASHLYNN STITT

Leadership Award

  • 2018/19 - REBECCA ALLOWAY
  • 2018/19 - ALYSIA GROTSKY
  • 2018/19 - JORDAN HOLT

Most Dedicated Player

  • 2018/19 AAA: SYDNEY BENKO
  • 2018/19 Midget AA Red: MEGHAN DEAN
  • 2018/19 Midget AA White: SARAH GAISER
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA Red: PEYTON EVANS
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA White: ALYSIA GROTSKY

Most Improved Player

  • 2018/19 AAA: BAILEY FIALA
  • 2018/19 Midget AA Red: ADRIA LUBERT
  • 2018/19 Midget AA White: MILA PREVILLE
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA Red: MADISON SIEMENS
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA White: AVERY KRAWCHUK

Sportsmanship Award

  • 2018/19 AAA: MALLORY DYER
  • 2018/19 Midget AA Red: SKYE MATHEW
  • 2018/19 Midget AA White: EMILY BALDWIN
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA Red: KENDALL TORHJELM
  • 2018/19 Bantam AA White: TALIA SCHNEIDER

Athletic Therapist of the Year

  • 2018/19 - Karen Tran

2018/19 GHC Calgary Fire Awards Banquet
April 12, 2019
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary South
Calgary, AB


The following awards are determined by external selection criteria. Hockey Calgary and Hockey Alberta awards are open to nominations from any Member Minor Hockey Association, Volunteer or Staff Member. Nominations are accepted annually but are not carried over to subsequent years.

Alberta Female Hockey
League Awards

AFHL Coach of the Year

  • 2018/19 AAA: Terry Johnson, Calgary Fire AAA
  • 2018/19 Midget Elite: David Addison, Calgary Fire Midget AA Red
  • 2017/18 Midget Elite: Tom Molloy, Calgary Fire Midget AA White

AFHL Player Awards

  • 2018/19 Midget Elite Top Goaltender: Cassidy Brown, Calgary Fire Midget AA Red
  • 2017/18 Midget Elite Most Valuable Player: Sydney Benko, Calgary Fire Midget AA Red
  • 2017/18 Bantam Elite Top Goaltender: Ali Kieren, Calgary Fire Bantam AA White

Hockey Calgary

HC Association of the Year

  • 2016/17: Girls Hockey Calgary Association (GHC)

Association Volunteer of the Year (GHC)

  • 2018/19 - Jody Forbes
  • 2017/18 - Jamie Martin
  • 2016/17 - Kris Olsen
  • 2015/16 - Deb Loomer
  • 2014/15 - Carla Ironside
  • 2013/14 - Terry Batke
  • 2011/12 - Barb Bauer
  • 2010/11 - Howard Leong

Award Information

Hockey Alberta
Awards Program

Hockey Alberta Volunteer of the Year

  • 2018/19 - Jody Forbes

Award Information

AFHL Player Post-Secondary Commitments